McMaster University

McMaster University

Clinical Skills in Gynecological Health

The goal of this unique educational program is to provide a practical hands-on learning opportunity for health care professionals in the area of Women's Health.

TIME - All workshops run from 8:30 am - 4:30 pm.

 

FALL 2022 Dates                                                          

  • Friday, October 14
  • Monday, October 31
  • Monday, November 7
  • Thursday, November 10
  • Thursday, November 17
  • Monday, November 21
  • Friday, November 25
  • Monday, November 28
  • Monday, December 5

 

 

SPRING/SUMMER 2023 Dates

 

  • Friday March 17
  • Thursday March 23
  • Friday March 31 
  • Monday April 3 
  • Thursday April 6 
  • Friday April 14 
  • Monday April 17
  • Monday April 24
  • Friday May 5 
  • Friday May 12 
  • Monday May 15
  • Friday May 26
  • Friday June 2
  • Thursday June 8
  • Friday June 16
  • Thursday June 29 

 

 

THE PROGRAM

The goal of this unique educational program is to provide a practical hands-on learning opportunity for health care professionals in the area of gynecological health. The attendees will have the opportunity to begin to develop the clinical skill set necessary to perform breast and pelvic assessments. As well, this introductory program will cover the current guidelines and sampling techniques used in screening, diagnosis, and follow-up of common gynecological conditions.

 

OBJECTIVES

  1. Provide the learner with an overview of the normal gynecological anatomy.

  2. Review the current clinical guidelines for biologic and cytological screening for common gynecologic conditions.

  3. Provide the learner with an overview of sexually transmitted infections.

  4. Demonstrate the clinical approach to the assessment of the genital tract.

  5. Provide an opportunity for the learner to practice the speculum exam in a supervised educational setting with a gynecological teaching associate who uses their own body as a teaching tool.

  6. Demonstrate the clinical approach to the breast exam and teaching techniques for the breast self-examination (BSE) with a gynecological teaching associate who uses their own body as a teaching tool.

TARGET AUDIENCE

Registered Nurses, Registered Practical Nurses, Nurse Practitioners, Physician Assistants and Midwives.

 

REGISTRATION FEE

$450.00 plus HST. Registration for the workshop is through Continuing Health Science Education.  Please visit CHSEs Calendar of Events page of register directly online by visiting their Online Registration Page.

CANCELLATION POLICY

The University reserves the right to cancel a course due to insufficient registration or any circumstances that are beyond our control. Cancellations up to 2 weeks prior to the course(for the date registered) will be refunded minus a 20% administrative fee. One transfer is permitted with a $100.00 fee at time of transfer. No refunds will be issued for cancellations received less than 2 weeks from the course date.

 

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0